Six Hours Stuck At Heathrow, Four Hours On A Train To Aarhus

With a spring in my step and a song in my heart, I blithely stepped out one chilly morning, and set off for Aarhus on behalf of  The EACA School to teach digital marketing. I had been told that the Danes needed me.

Buoyed by this, I wondered if I should have bought a tourist guide so that finding the best bars should pose no problems. The date was 16 November, 2010.

DRRB chaperone

My Danish Minder

But, from the moment I reached Paddington, I knew the guide would not be needed. It was very foggy. Actually, it was a pea-souper.

Here are some extracts from my day’s grumbling and ill-tempered diary:

“I write this standing at a bar in Terminal 3, Heathrow. Next to me is a young weeping woman (not the one to the right) who thought she was going to be flying to Copenhagen, only now she isn’t. We are both greatly delayed by fog. Our flight to Copenhagen is going to be at least three hours late.”

How little I knew. My diary went on:

“In the 1960s, the de Havilland Trident 3 had a wonderful automatic landing system which allowed the pilots to take their hands off the rams-horn control yokes while the aircraft landed itself with all the aplomb of a duck landing on the Queen Mary reservoir. But, I suppose, the fog had knocked out take-offs as well as landings, so my SAS plane has yet to leave a socked in airfield on The Faeroes.”

The delay was actually six hours. At 16.30 I wrote:

“The flight is still delayed. I could have moaned about this on Twitter, but I have an old-fashioned fountain pen, an old-fashioned note-book, a glass of Chilean sauvignon blanc, and time to kill. Sometimes, old technology is often more comforting.”

I eventually got airborne, and later caught a train from Rastrup. Four hours later, I arrived in Aarhus in Jutland. I got to bed at 01.30 the following day in the middle of the night.

The next day held a very pleasant surprise. Her name is Eleonore af Schaumburg-Lippe. With a name like that, you can stop armies in their tracks merely by glaring at them. But Eleonore turned out to be a constant source of laughter, for which I warmly thank her, as I do Bjorn Karsholt for a great dinner in the Tivoli Gardens later that evening.

Eleonore’s photo is above. We were in the Chamber of  Commerce in Copenhagen at the end of the final workshop of the year, 18 November 2010, and she is holding a feedback form from one of the delegates who thought we were very good value indeed. I’d like to find more students like this.

As  write this, I see that it’s something like 60 days ago when I was last blogging regularly.

All I can say is that work simply got in the way.

Although it was sometimes difficult to spot when it really was work.

